Chakra Meditation

Chakras are various focal points used in variety of ancient meditation practices, collectively denominated as tantra, or the esoteric or inner tradition of hinduism. Chakra meditation thus involves a transfer of energy wheels through the entire body. Although the body possesses hundreds of varying chakras, there are essentially 7 crore chakras (energy centers) within the body. Each of these chakras is regarded as the ultimate focal point linking your emotional, physical and spiritual energies. Chakras can also be viewed as energy networks that allow your body, mind spirit to interrelate one single system.
Chakra meditation is a form of meditation that consists of a set of relaxation techniques focused on bringing balance, relaxation and well-being to the chakras. “Chakra” is an ancient Sanskrit word that means vortex or wheel that can be traced back to India.
Chakras are the human body’s seven main energy centers with each one corresponding to individual glands that govern our specific body parts plus various areas of the psyche. They are located next to a hormonal gland along the human spinal column.
Chakras can become blocked and if even one of the 7 Chakras becomes blocked, it sets us up for physical and emotional problems which is something no one wants. Chakra healing is an excellent way to balance your chakras and find balance within your body and mind.
  •  Improved overall health and well being.
  •  Greater and faster ability to heal your mental, physical, spiritual and emotional issues.
  •  Increased openness, memory, concentration and awareness.
  •  Positive outlook in terms of understanding, perception of behaviors and thought process.
  •  Heightened creativity and better resourcefulness because of better perception.
  •  Sense of self-worth, self-esteem and self- confidence.
  •  Improved and deeper sleep, better control over your emotions and improved patience.

Benefits of Chakra Meditation

 it is clear that clear and healthy functioning chakras certainly propel you into the life you deserve to live.
New to chakras? Here’s a quick primer: Chakras are whirling forces of subtle energy associated with different aspects of the physical, emotional, and spiritual bodies.
There are 7 (of many more) chakras primarily taught in yoga, and this is what they stand for: 
  • Muladhara (Root): Earth, security, home, finances
  • Svadhisthana (Sacral): Water, creativity, sexuality
  • Manipura (Solar Plexus): Fire, sense of self
  • Anahata (Heart): Air, love
  • Visuddha (Throat): Space, communication from the heart’s truth
  • Ajna (Third Eye): Light, intuition
  • Sahasrara (Crown): Bliss, divine connection

How Do Chakra Meditation Techniques Work?

Our beautiful and mysterious universe distributes its divine life-force energy to the earth and to our glands and organs located throughout the body and bloodstream. This life-force energy is key in order to obtaining optimum well being and health. It’s believed that since the chakras are interrelated, they closely affect one another. By working to achieve the optimum level of balance.

  1. Root chakra (Muladhara): (base of the spine): This is your foundation, or grounding. When in balance, the first chakra gives you a sense of physical security, safety, and feeling centered. People who feel well-supported have a strong first chakra.
  2. Navel chakra (Swadhisthana): (sacrum): This is your source of pleasure, creativity, and sexual energy. When in balance, the second chakra makes life enjoyable. People who are enthusiastic and can accept pleasure naturally, without excess, addiction, or inhibition, have a strong second chakra.
  3. Solar plexus chakra (Manipura): (navel/solar plexus): Commonly called the power chakra, the third chakra converts energy into physical form, beginning with good digestion and hormonal balance. When in balance, this chakra makes you feel empowered and able to bring your intentions to fruition. People who have self-confidence and self-esteem are strong in the third chakra.
  4. Heart chakra (Anahata) (heart): The subtle or spiritual qualities of love, compassion, and empathy are governed by the fourth chakra. When in balance, this charka is soothing, comforting, and nourishing. People who are warm-hearted, sympathetic, and loving have a strong fourth chakra.
  5. Throat chakra (Vishuddha): The fifth chakra is about communication and expression. When in balance, this chakra allows you to express yourself with a sense of safety and confidence. People who can speak their truth and think clearly have a strong fifth chakra.
  6. Third eye chakra (Ajna): (forehead): The sixth chakra traditionally sits like a “third eye” that gives inner vision and access to higher or spiritual reality. When in balance, this chakra allows for intuition and insight. People who trust their inner perceptions have a strong sixth chakra, with the added potential for wisdom and a powerful spiritual life.
  7. Crown chakra (Sahasrara): (top of head): Commonly called the “crown” chakra, the seventh chakra is the connection to pure consciousness. When in balance, this chakra gives the individual awareness knowledge that it is universal awareness—the lower self (Jiva) is the higher Self (Atman), and both are merged into the One (Brahman). People who experience states of unity consciousness have a strong seventh chak